What's New With Viewpoint 15.00 Shared Pages
The Shared Pages feature in Viewpoint has been updated to make it simpler and more intuitive. Now, if you want to create a template page to share with others or to ensure that new users are not greeted with a blank Home page, you can find everything you need in the new and improved Shared Pages admin portlet.
For anyone not familiar with the Shared Pages feature, it allows admin users to create template Viewpoint pages and have full control over the layout of portlets on the page and the settings and views within the portlets. You can allow users in a role to take a copy of a shared page and customize it, to view a read-only page that cannot be customized so you can ensure your users have a consistent view of data, and you can automatically add pages to the portal.
The main changes in the Shared Pages interface from the last release are:
- Features and functions have been consolidated in one area – Now the Shared Pages admin portlet is a one stop shop for creating and managing shared pages
- Removed banner messages that appeared to end users on portal pages – The message banners that took up valuable screen real estate for little value have been eliminated
- Permission to administer shared pages is now a normal portlet permission – It is no longer a 'special' permission that lives in a different location from other permissions
The Making of a Shared Page
To get started, ensure the Shared Pages portlet is enabled and that you belong to a role that has permission to use the portlet.
Upon opening the portlet, you see a list of all of the shared pages that have been created and some useful data points for each.
When you click the Add Shared Page button you are presented with some options for how the page should be applied. Normally, shared pages are editable and can be added or removed at any time.
Assign to Role
This is how you choose who can use the page. After you create the page, you cannot change the role since different roles can have very different access rights so switching roles could get messy.
This specifies whether or not the page is accessible to users. Remember that as soon as you click Create, the page is generated. If you don't want end users to see that page until after you have added and edited the portlets, do not enable the page until you are happy with the end result.
Show this page the first time a user logs in
This option helps new Viewpoint users by automatically displaying a useful portal page rather than a blank page.
This ensures that everyone who adds the shared page to the portal will see the same portlets in the same configuration.
This variant of a read-only page that is automatically added for everyone in the target role and cannot be removed.
Edit the Page
Now that Viewpoint knows the target role and its associated permissions, you can build a shared page and see how it will look to users. The page edit screen looks nearly identical to a normal page.
In the first step, you already configured the Page Properties so the next step is to add portlets to the page. The Add Content interface allows you to add only the portlets available to the target role. This removes some of the confusion of the previous release where you could add any portlet but it might not appear to the user.
When customizing the shared page, 'Edit and Preview' is the normal mode and ensures you see exactly which features and functions are available to users in the target role. It is recommended that you do most page configuration in the preview mode and that you verify the shared page in that mode before saving.
The gear icons allow you to configure additional settings that might not be available to the target role such as the ability to configure which table columns appear, select a target system, and configure portlet Settings (previously known as Preferences).
When you are happy with your creation, ensure the page is enabled and click Save; the new page will be available to all users of the target role.
The Taking of a Shared Page
After the page has been created, it can be added (assuming it is a normal or read-only page) using the Add Page menu at the top of the portal (the plus icon to the right of the page tabs). Mandatory pages do not appear in the list because they are added automatically for all users in the role.